Earliest Thoughts

搞通思想

“People with clear, written goals, accomplish far more in a shorter period of time than people without them could ever imagine.” -Brian Tracy

As I prepare for my research and journey, I have been reflecting on what I hope to achieve. Given that I will only be in Shanghai for ten short weeks, I want to set myself specific goals in order to make the most of the wonderful opportunity that I have been given.

  1. To gain a greater knowledge of the issue that I will be researching, I will read “China, Internal Migration” by the end of January and The Geographical Transformation of China by the end of March.
  2. To develop my Chinese language skills and learn about current events, I will spend 15 minutes a day reading from Chinese news and media sites.
  3. To prepare for my research project and hit the ground running in Shanghai, I will connect with my research mentor at least 3 more times before May.
  4. To learn about Shanghai from different perspectives and stay aware and mindful, I will speak with at least 3 locals everyday when I am in China.
  5. To reflect on the purpose of the work I am doing and record my experiences, I will write down my thoughts twice a week during the summer.
Leave a Reply

